Modern Symphonic Metal Icons KAMELOT to Release New Album, ”The Awakening”, on March 17, 2023


KAMELOT is one of few bands in the symphonic genre to fully embrace the dark, but of course, there can be no light without it. Inspiring, engaging lyrical themes of determination, strength, overcoming personal battles, and growth abound on “The Awakening,” provoked by extreme societal shifts and the overwhelming realization that we have such a brief time to be true to ourselves and live life to its fullest.

photo credit: Nat Enemede

With crystal clear modern production helmed by the band and longtime producer Sascha Paeth, plus mixing and mastering by Jacob Hansen of Hansen Studios, KAMELOT‘s score-like 13th studio album is accented by guest contributions from the likes of Melissa Bonny (AD INFINITUM) and renowned instrumentalists like violinist Florian Janoske, and Grammy-nominated, soundtrack-featured cellist Tina Guo.

KAMELOT guitarist Thomas Youngblood says:

“With The Awakening,’ we have one of our most diverse albums in years. We’ve fused elements from progressive, power, and gothic metal to symphonic and melodic metal on this one. Working with incredible guest artists from around the music industry and having producer Sascha Paeth and Jacob Hansen mixing gave us another step up on overall sound. This album offers everything to KAMELOT fans and also reaches beyond borders to new metal and hard rock legions.”

Showcasing the incomparable, stage-seasoned vocal acrobatics of Tommy Karevik and increasingly airtight, renowned technical teamwork of guitarist Thomas Youngblood, drummer Alex Landenburg, keyboardist Oliver Palotai, and bassist Sean Tibbetts“The Awakening” embraces enlivening themes that every listener can relate to. KAMELOT‘s intense brand of ultramodern gothic and symphonic theatricality is amplified further and with more emotionality than ever on this inspiring, anticipated addition to the KAMELOT legacy.

Tracks honoring KAMELOT trademarks like cinematic “The Great Divide” and darkly hopeful eternal farewell to a loved one, “Eventide,” prove that while “The Awakening” stays true to the aural foundations fans have embraced for decades, equally-addictive outputs like “One More Flag in the Ground” – a radio-ready anthem about overcoming seemingly unbeatable illness and the mental challenges we all face, featuring additional vocal layers from JUNO Award-winning musician and producer Brian Howes – showcase a band devoid of sonic stagnancy. Profound compositions are plentiful, like stage-ready, operatic “Opus of the Night (Ghost Requiem),” which features a hair-raising dual solo from guitarist Thomas Youngblood and guest cellist Tina Guo, as well as epic, synth-laden “New Babylon,” elevated by the dynamic vocal attack of frontman Tommy Karevik and AD INFINITUM‘s Melissa Bonny. Further balancing darkness with light, grooving, heartfelt “NightSky,” and ode to conquering one’s adversities “My Pantheon (Forevermore)” boast some of the album’s heaviest moments and most complex guitar solos, while pensive hymns such as Celtic-infused “Midsummer’s Eve” and ebbing-and-flowing hymn of cherished memories “Willow” provide the necessary balance to an album fittingly primed for spectacular performances to come.

The Awakening” tracklisting:

  • 1. Overture (Intro)
  • 2. The Great Divide
  • 3. Eventide
  • 4. One More Flag in the Ground
  • 5. Opus of the Night (Ghost Requiem)
  • 6. Midsummer’s Eve
  • 7. Bloodmoon
  • 8. NightSky
  • 9. The Looking Glass
  • 10. New Babylon
  • 11. Willow
  • 12. My Pantheon (Forevermore)
  • 13. Ephemera (Outro)

The Awakening” will be available in the following formats:

  • Digital Album
  • CD Digipak
  • CD Digipak + Shirt Bundle – Napalm Records exclusive
  • 2-LP Gatefold Vinyl Black
  • 2-LP Gatefold Vinyl in Splatter Red + Black – Napalm Records exclusive (European webstore), limited to 500
  • 2-LP Gatefold in Marbled White + Black – Napalm Records exclusive (North American webstore), limited to 300
  • 48p Earbook with 7” Vinyl Single – Napalm Records exclusive, limited to 500
  • Wooden Boxset with Envelope Opener, Flag, Patch and Band Postcard – Napalm Records exclusive, limited to 1000
  • Music Cassette – Napalm Records exclusive, limited to 100

KAMELOT will tour the world in support of “The Awakening.” See below for their upcoming European Awaken The World Tour dates.

KAMELOT Awaken the World Tour Europe – Part 1:

w/ special guests Myrath, Eleine, League of Distortion

  • Mar 12, 2023 – Pratteln, CH / Z7
  • Mar 13, 2023 – Lille, FR / Splendid
  • Mar 14, 2023 – Paris, FR / Elysee Montmartre
  • Mar 17, 2023 – Cologne, DE / Essigfabrik
  • Mar 18, 2023 – Den Bosch, NL / Mainstage
  • Mar 19, 2023 – Brussels, BE / La Madeleine
  • Mar 21, 2023 – Hamburg, DE / Gruenspan
  • Mar 22, 2023 – Roskilde, DK / Gimle
  • Mar 24, 2023 – Oslo, NO / Sentrum Scene
  • Mar 25, 2023 – Gothenburg, SE / Trädgårn
  • Mar 26, 2023 – Stockholm, SE / Berns
  • Mar 29, 2023 – Helsinki, FI / Vanha Ylioppilastalo
  • Mar 31, 2023 – Tampere, FI / Pakkahuone
  • Apr 1, 2023 – Oulu, FI / Tapahtumakeskus Tullisali
  • Apr 3, 2023 – Tallinn, EE / Helitehas
  • Apr 4, 2023 – Rīga, LV / Melnā Piektdiena
  • Apr 6, 2023 – Warsaw, PL / Progresja
  • Apr 7, 2023 – Prague, CZ / Meet Factory
  • Apr 8, 2023 – Budapest, HU / Barba Negra

Spring/Summer Festivals:

  • May 4, 2023 – Karmøygeddon Metal Festival, NO – Headlining
  • Sep 8, 2023 – ProgPower USA XXII, USA – Headlining


  • Tommy Karevik – Vocals
  • Thomas Youngblood – Guitars
  • Oliver Palotai – Keyboards
  • Sean Tibbetts – Bass
  • Alex Landenburg – Drums

KAMELOT online: