TEMIC Release Epic Closer off New Album


TEMIC are prog’s new supergroup, but all four members navigated quite the career maze to reach this point. These guys have played with Devin Townsend, Mike Portnoy’s Shattered Fortress, Neal Morse, SHINING, and MARATON. It’s fitting then that their debut album is layered with twists and turns.  

Now, TEMIC are releasing the album’s epic closer. Watch the video for “Mothallah,” a seven-minute epic that never stops reaching for the stars.    

“Terror Management Theory” puts a new, proggy, and positive spin on the psychological theory of the same name. Instead of falling into despair over thoughts about our own mortality, the album finds a sense of purpose by recognizing that life is too precious not to live every moment to the max. Its grand closing statement, “Mothallah,” presents TEMIC at their peak.

At just under eight minutes, the song has room for twinkling keys, riffing synths, zero-gravity double bass kicks, two choirs, and a classic arena rock solo that will have you down on both knees shredding your air guitar. “We will fight until the rays of light stand high,” sings Fredrik Bergersen with such booming, keening conviction, that even a nihilist would have no choice but to believe that this band is truly divine.  

Here’s what TEMIC have to say about their new single:

“The lyrics in ‘Mothallah’ come from the personified perspective of our inner survival-seeking selves, encouraging us to reconcile and reconnect with our inner strength and self-confidence, especially when facing great challenges or fighting fears. The choir brings to life a sense of community and belonging, realizing that not only as individuals but also as a species, do we all face challenges and ‘fight through the darkest night…’ For this self-produced video, we wanted to emphasize that the band members come from very different backgrounds, nationalities, and ethnicities. Even when living thousands of kilometers away, it is music that brings us all together.”

Track list:
1. TMT (2:02)
2. Through the Sands of Time (7:00)
3. Falling Away (4:58) [WATCH VIDEO]
4. Count Your Losses (6:13) [WATCH VIDEO]
5. Skeletons (7:00)
6. Acts of Violence (5:52)
7. Friendly Fire (5:57)
8. Paradigm (6:33)
9. Once More (5:45)
10. Mothallah (7:27) [WATCH VIDEO]

Fredrik Bergersen (Maraton, 22) – Vocals
Eric Gillette (The Neal Morse Band, Mike Portnoy’s Shattered Fortress) – Guitars and Backing Vocals
Simen Sandnes (Shining, Arkentype)  – Drums and Percussion
Diego Tejeida (Devin Townsend, Mike Portnoy’s Shattered Fortress, ex-Haken) – Keyboards and Sound Design

Guest musicians:
Jacob Umansky (USA) – Bass guitar on the whole album
Mosaic Gospel Choir (Norway) – Mothallah
Garden State Threshold Choir (USA) – Mothallah

 Follow Temic