REVIEW: The Night Flight Orchestra – Aeromantic


Fans of classic rock and AOR don’t want to miss to hop on board of the sublime journey of “Aeromantic,” the upcoming album of THE NIGHT FLIGHT ORCHESTRA out on February 28th through Nuclear Blast. Make sure your seat belt is fastened and your luggage is stowed away in the overhead bins or under the seat in front of you as we had the opportunity to give you insight into what you can expect from the upcoming release. Read our interview with David Andersson here.

“Aeromantic” starts off with the blazing “Servants Of The Air,” which is a fast-paced song with bombastic riffs, that immediately shows off that trademark THE NIGHT FLIGHT ORCHESTRA sound as it progresses. “Servants Of The Air” certainly is a fantastic opener, as it starts off the album with a blast. “Divinyls” was released as a first single, and it’s clear why. This high-on-energy track is definitely one of the most addictive songs with the best melodies present on the album. “Tonight Is Our Only Chance” has a more eighties poppy vibe to it, and again is centered around catchy melodies. “This Boy’s Last Summer” starts off with an ABBA-infused intro, accompanied by classic THE NIGHT FLIGHT ORCHESTRA riffs. “Curves” has a little bit of a TOTO vibe, but more than that is a perfect and sweet pop song with tongue-in-cheek lyrics. “Transmission” is actually a brilliant track that features epic, nostalgic, retro-futuristic, rocky, and, dreamy moments all together in one song. The title track “Aeromantic” has some great moments when it comes down to the guitar work, from heavy and groovy riffs to great melodies, and of course, includes the obligatory compelling guitar solo.

The second half of “Aeromantic” sees the band treading to heavier waters. But not before the band shows their skill set in the atmospheric slow-paced “Golden Swansdown.” The band continues with “Taurus,” and “Carmencita Seven,” two songs that definitely want you to crank the volume to the maximum and dance to the catchy melodies and pounding rhythm sections. “Dead Of Winter” has a bit more of progressive elements in there, with an atmospheric synth intro that completely changes the atmosphere. This by far is one of the strongest songs on the records, which showcases that even though THE NIGHT FLIGHT ORCHESTRA centers around disco and rock song from the eighties, the drum rhythms on this album are beyond classic disco beats and have a bit more to them than meets the ear. The album ends on a high note with the funky “City Lights and Moonbeams.”

All-in-all “Aeromantic” continues the great streak of soaring albums that THE NIGHT FLIGHT ORCHESTRA have so far unleashed upon the world. “Aeromantic” is a great successor to “Sometimes The World Ain’t Enough,” and contains plenty of deadly catchy moments that will make you either sing along loudly or dance the night away. There is no band like THE NIGHT FLIGHT ORCHESTRA that take the best elements of the seventies, and eighties and somehow transform them into something that makes sense in the current music climate, by somehow keeping the balance in between nostalgia and what’s trendy right now, which is exactly what “Aeromantic” does.

Written by Laureline Tilkin


  1. Servants Of The Air
  2. Divinyls
  3. If Tonight Is Our Only Chance
  4. This Boy’s Last Summer
  5. Curves
  6. Transmissions
  7. Aeromantic
  8. Golden Swansdown
  9. Taurus
  10. Carmencita Seven
  11. Sister Mercurial
  12. Dead Of Winter
  13. City Lights and Moonbeams


Björn Strid – Lead Vocals
David Andersson – Guitar
Sharlee D’Angelo – Bass
Sebastian Forslund – Guitar, Percussion and Special FX
Jonas Källsbäck – Drums
Anna-Mia Bonde – Backing Vocals
Anna Brygård – Backing Vocals


Recent posts

Related posts