REVIEW: Ensiferum – Two Paths


There is no reason to introduce Ensiferum, except for needing a short introduction to this review. The Finnish folk metal band has been holding strong since it’s founding in 1995. Time after time they have managed to please me and probably an army of fans with their music. It’s not certainly not any different, when it comes to their newest release “Two Paths.”

Ensiferum - Two Paths.jpg

Newest acquisition is Netta Skog, who replaces Emmi Silvennoinen on this album. For those who were scared they were not getting the same sounds as Emmi had, no worries, digital accordion is exactly like a keyboard and it does sound really good on the album.

Whatever we can expect from Ensiferum, happens on this album as well: folk that makes you wanna dance along with the rhythm. The first song kicks in “Ajattomasta Unesta” with great ease, but it’s the next song “For Those About To Fight For Metal” that is probably the catchiest one on the album and really likeable. What’s really nice on this album is the variety in vocals. An example of this happens in both “Two Paths” and “Don’t You Say”, where the band experiments with more clean vocals and sounds refreshing. What’s also really captivating about the album is that both “Don’t You Say” and “God Is Dead” have alternative versions, that mainly vary in the vocals, giving the songs more possibilities to perform live.

“Two Paths” is easy to listen to and really enjoyable. It has those typical Ensiferum sounds that we all love. While more songs are guitar-centered on this album and the real surprises stay out on this turn, all-in-all the album is what you would expect from Ensiferum and if you like the band, will definitely be a good acquisition to add to your shelf.



  1. Ajattomasta unesta
  2. For Those About to Fight for Metal
  3. Way of the Warrior
  4. Two Paths
  5. King of Storms
  6. Feast With Valkyries
  7. Don’t You Say
  8. I Will Never Kneel
  9. God Is Dead
  10. Hail to the Victor
  11. Unettomaan aikaan
  12. God Is Dead (Alternative Version)
  13. Don’t You Say (Alternative Version)


Petri Lindroos – Vocals/Guitar
Markus Toivonen – Guitar/Vocals
Sami Hinkka – Bass/Vocals
Janne Parviainen – Drums
Netta Skog – Digital Accordion/Backing vocals


Label Page