REVIEW: Children Of Bodom – Hexed


Review: Children of Bodom - Hexed

8 march 2019, Nuclear Blast

Is there any need in introducing the infamous CHILDREN OF BODOM, the melodic death metal act from Espoo? Their albums from the nineties were a huge hit all around Europe, and the band is ready to present us their 10th studio album “Hexed”, which will be released through Nuclear Blast on 8 March 2019.

The album starts off with “This Road”, a song that somehow reminds me very much of Finnish winter. Roads can really kill you here, it’s dangerous. In all seriousness, the song is very catchy and sounds very experimental for CHILDREN OF BODOM, the same story continues in the next song “Under Grass and Clover”. The melody lines are not usual for CHILDREN OF BODOM, even feel a bit uplifting in a way, and often aim for a more progressive, hard rock atmosphere. This however, is drenched with classic fast-paced CHILDREN OF BODOM tempo changes and nifty song structures. These newly introduced elements give the songs a unique touch, and make them sound more modern, definitely a welcome change! Another song that has the same feel to it is “Hecate's Nightmare”, which also is one of my personal highlights on this album.

On the other hand there are a lot of CHILDREN OF BODOM songs that could have easily been part of their success story in the nineties, such as “Glass Houses”, “Kick in a Spleen”, and the title-track “Hexed”. Speedy, aggressive, and outstanding, hooky melodies. I can only applaud the band for creating these songs!

If we dive deeper into what everyone in the band brings to the table, we can definitely expect a great vocal delivery and guitar wizardry from Alexi Laiho, Janne Wirman performing his same kind of magic when it comes down to keyboards, which is especially clear the title-track “Hexed”. Not to mention the synergy between these two players. The addition of Daniel Freyberg to the lineup is also worth mentioning, as he definitely delivers on the album, having two guitarists with very distinguished styles really gives more depth to the songs, and they definitely fit into the whole concept that is CHILDREN OF BODOM.

The production of the album, in general, feels crisp, well-balanced and very polished, in my opinion the drums sometimes tend to overpower the vocals and everything else happening, but it doesn’t bother me that much. The placement of the songs on the album, was really great, the variety of songs never made the album boring, every single song brought something different to the table, being it more modern or classic CHILDREN OF BODOM.

“Hexed” is different in many ways, it contains all the highs the band has maintained throughout the years, but it also has some very progressive elements present, putting old CHILDREN OF BODOM on the map in 2019. This is definitely a direction I would love to see the band take in upcoming releases, all-in-all great listen that will offer a lot of variety and great headbang-worthy moments! I will definitely enjoy this record with a Bodom lager in hand!



  1. This Road
  2. Under Grass And Clover
  3. Glass Houses
  4. Hecate's Nightmare
  5. Kick in a Spleen
  6. Platitudes And Barren Words
  7. Hexed
  8. Relapse (The Nature Of My Crime)
  9. Say Never Look Back
  10. Soon Departed
  11. Knuckleduster


Alexi Laiho - guitars & vocals
Jaska Raatikainen - drums
Henkka Blacksmith - bass
Janne Wirman - keyboards
Daniel Freyberg - guitar


Photo by Marek Sabogal