FEATURED SINGLE: Daimonic – Daimonic Legion


There’s been a lot of buzz around the Mikko Salovaara camp this year! First, METAL DE FACTO released an EP, “Legionnaire’s Oath,” earlier in the year. As well, KIUAS announced a return to the music scene, fulfilling the dreams of the band’s fans for some sort of reunion, promising a new single at some point. Now, as of April 9th, 2021, we have also been treated to a new song by his main band, DAIMONIC, entitled “Daimonic Legion.”

The first few tastes of DAIMONIC that we’ve had so far have shown that the band is truly a spiritual successor to KIUAS and sure those who have been heartbroken by KIUAS splitting up must surely be excited about this music. The biggest difference between “Daimonic Legion” and their predecessor tracks is the sudden appearance of even cleaner vocals by band mastermind Mikko Salovaara. He has mentioned in past interviews that he took up the vocalist mantle after making the executive decision that no one would know the vibe he wants as much as he does, so he took up singing lessons. Well, those lessons have paid off! I was so astounded by the vocals that I thought for a moment that they had invited Antony Parviainen [PSYCHEWORK, ex-MACHINE MEN] to sing in the track.

Naturally, this isn’t the only great thing about the song, because “Daimonic Legion” still has everything you want from a Salovaara song: crushing riffing, stylish keyboards, and a strong, fierce rhythm section. Indeed, if you’ve been hoping for something a little above and beyond what we’ve already heard from DAIMONIC, this song surely delivers! From the thrashier intro to the more melodic chorus, including some time set aside just for some soloing, this band is pushing the limits of what they’ve already done already!

Want to learn more about the single? We asked DAIMONIC some questions about it on IGTVAlso check out our Spotify playlist, where you can find the most recent singles from rising Finnish bands.



Mikko Salovaara – vocals, guitars

Jari Pailamo – keyboards

Ville Sorvali – bass

Aki Holma – guitars

Timo Aspiala – drums