REVIEW: Block Buster – Losing Gravity


Finnish hard rock act BLOCK BUSTER is to release their debut album “Losing Gravity” on the 13th of this month, and Tuonela Magazine got the chance to prelisten this baby for you guys. So let’s dive right into it and tell you what we thought!

Block Buster - Losing Gravity

The opener “Out In The City” does not waste any time pumping you up for some no bullshit, A-grade rocking. Some tight riffs blended with rock hard groove, spiced up with Aarni Metsäpelto‘s sensual vocals pretty much sums up the band’s signature formula. “Gone By The Morning” and “Flammable” have you singing along to the catchy chorus, and – believe me – this is not the last time. The fact that I had a difficult time sitting still, even while writing this, says it all.

The high energy never falters, even in slightly slower songs like “Back From The Shadows”, and you are in for this ride until you go home after the party with beer spilled on your favourite bandshirt, waking up with the worst hangover in the morning that was totally worth it anyway (“Walking Like A Dog”). All jokes aside, it is quite clear to me that BLOCK BUSTER is a bunch of talented musicians that committed themselves to this memorable debut, and will keep on devoting their blood, sweat, and tears to making sure hard rock carries on the way into the 21st century and beyond.

For some reason, it occurred to me that this album would be a great soundtrack for the popular Netflix series Stranger Things (even the cover art seems to channel this). Or any 80ies flick for that matter. The band hasn’t stolen its name! Anyhow, this record made me feel the groove! I recommend “Losing Gravity” to anyone who is into 70ies/80ies (inspired) hard rock à la MOTÖRHEAD, AIRBOURNE, BON JOVI, and more recently THE DARKNESS. Or basically anyone who is into rocking out and having a good time. On that note, here are some upcoming live dates ;-):

  • 13.09.19  KUOPIO Henry’s Pub
  • 14.09.19  JOENSUU Kerubi
  • 27.09.19  KAJAANI Rock House Kulma
  • 02-05.10.19 TAMPERE Lost In Music
  • 05.10.19 HELSINKI On The Rocks
  • 16.11.19 NIVALA Tuiskula/Nivala


1. Out In The City
2. Gone By The Morning
3. Flammable
4. Back From The Shadows
5. Losing Gravity
6. Sweet Mary Jane (album version)
7. Somebody To Shock Me
8. Walking Like A Dog
9. Move
10. Would You Do It Again
11. Bulletproof (bonus track)


Aarni Metsäpelto – Vocals, guitar
Elias Salo – Lead Guitar
Joonas Arppe – Bass
Jaakko Metsäpelto – Drums


Frontiers Records (Release date September 13, 2019)