OCTOPLOID – premiere single & video for “The Dawns In Nothingness [feat. Mikko Kotamäki]”


From death metal to prog but also folk: with its wide range of influences, OCTOPLOID‘s forthcoming debut album “Beyond The Aeons” (due out on July 5, 2024, via Reigning Phoenix Music) takes the listener to its very own world. In anticipation of the offering, the band led by bassist Olli-Pekka “Oppu” Laine (AMORPHISBARREN EARTHMANNHAI) present a second digital single off the record. Continuing the list of prestigious guests, Mikko Kotamäki (SWALLOW THE SUN etc.) lends his distinctive vocals to “The Dawns In Nothingness,” the album-opening track which opens the gate to “Beyond The Aeons” in the form of fateful peal of bells, cawing craws and acoustic guitar tunes. The eventful song straightly raises the bar with its driving yet dark character, intermitted by a handful of wonderfully psychedelic guitar/keyboard solo parts, for what may be one of the most expected death-prog albums of the year.

Band leader Laine explains, “This track is an unlikely marriage between black and death metal, rock and medieval monk chants, rounded up by SWALLOW THE SUN vocalist Mikko Kotamäki. Even though the texts are very personal, the gloomy lyricism is not always to be taken literally. That’s just a part of the classic doom metal ethos at its finest!”

Pre-order the album in the physical format of your choice (CD-digi, eco-friendly / recycled “dusk of vex” marbled vinyl), pre-save it on your favourite DSP or pre-order it digitally to receive “The Dawns In Nothingness [feat. Mikko Kotamäki]” and “Human Amoral [feat. Tomi Joutsen]” instantly now, here: https://octoploid.rpm.link/beyondtheaeonsPR

Mikko Kotamäki | vocals (live)
Peter Salonen | guitars
Kim Rantala | keyboards
Olli-Pekka Laine | bass, keyboards, backing vocals
Mikko Pietinen | drums, percussion


Facebook | Instagram | X | TikTok | RPM