OCEANS OF SLUMBER Releases Cover Version Of “House Of The Rising Sun” Off ‘Starlight And Ash’


OCEANS OF SLUMBER release their new track and cover of “House Of The Rising Sun” today via Century Media Records. Check out the visualizer video for the track, which is the 4th song released off their upcoming album, “Starlight and Ash,” out July 22nd

“With leanings and inspirations from the Texas/Louisiana border, we felt that this cover was a perfect fit to the storytelling essence of the album,“ says OCEANS OF SLUMBER about their version of “House Of The Rising Sun.” “Going back to the female perspective of the song’s original version, we capture the troubled story of a traveler along the coast.”

OCEANS OF SLUMBER have also recently announced The Lighthouse East Tour. The band will be hitting the road this Fall for a handful of headline shows starting in their hometown, Houston, on August 27th and wrapping in Austin on September 11th. Tickets are available to purchase, HERE

Oceans of Slumber Tour Dates: 

  • 8/27 – Houston, TX @ The Secret Group
  • 8/29 – Atlanta, GA @ The Masquerade (Purgatory) 
  • 8/30 – Tampa, FL @ The Brass Mug
  • 8/31 – Chapel Hill, NC @ Local 506
  • 9/01 – Baltimore, MD @ Metro
  • 9/02 – Clifton, NJ @ Dingbatz
  • 9/03 – Brooklyn, NY @ Saint Vitus
  • 9/04 – Providence, RI @ Alchemy
  • 9/06 – Pittsburgh, PA @ Preserving Underground
  • 9/07 – Detroit, MI @ The Sanctuary
  • 9/08 – Chicago, IL @ Reggies
  • 9/09 – Kansas City, MO @ Record Bar
  • 9/10 – Dallas, TX @ Amplified Live 
  • 9/11 – Austin, TX @ Come and Take it Live

Fronted by the inimitable power, range, and grace of vocalist Cammie Beverly“Starlight and Ash” posits OCEANS OF SLUMBER in a league of their own. This is as much eloquent extensions of famed singer-songwriters Nick Cave and Chris Stapleton as it is the heartbreaking pulse of TYPE O NEGATIVE and KATATONIA“Starlight and Ash” isn’t Metal, but its edges are. The album, which is set for release on July 22nd, was produced by Joel Hamilton (Violet Road, Battle of Mice) and mastered by Maor Appelbaum (Yes, Voivod). Its stunning artwork was created by Eliran Kantor (Testament, Heaven Shall Burn and many more).

The album is available to pre-order, HERE, and can be found in the following formats: 

Ltd. CD Digipak          

black LP & LP-Booklet

300x transp. light blue LP & LP-Booklet available at CM Distro Wholesale EU, CMDistro.de and EMP

300x dark green LP & LP-Booklet available from the band

1000x transp. orange LP & LP-Booklet available in the US

Digital album

OCEANS OF SLUMBER is Cammie Beverly (vocals), Xan Fernandez (guitar), Jessie Santos (guitar), Mathew Aleman (synth), Semir Ozerkan (bass), Dobber Beverly (drums and piano)

Watch “The Lighthouse (Official Video)”: YouTube

Watch “The Waters Rising (Official Video)”: YouTube

Watch “Hearts of Stone (Visualizer Video)”: YouTube

Follow Oceans Of Slumber: