Ministry – Al Jourgensen Discusses Inspiration For ‘Search And Destroy’ Cover In New Video Interview


Last month, MINISTRY premiered the music video for the new track, “Search And Destroy,” via Rolling Stone. The song is a unique take on THE STOOGES‘ hit that offers a uniquely slowed down tempo and frontman Al Jourgensen’s guttural howl that amplifies the song’s wartime critique.

In this new video interview, Jourgensen discusses the inspiration for the cover, featuring Billy Morrison (Billy Idol, Royal Machines) who worked closely with Al to hone MINISTRY’s version. It was an idea they came up with after teaming up on the track in a moment of accidental kismet at the Above Ground benefit concert in Los Angeles in 2019.

Hear Al Jourgensen discuss “Search And Destroy” in detail in the new interview video here: 

See the music video for “Search And Destroy” (directed by Dean Karr) here:

“Search And Destroy” will appear on MINISTRY’s upcoming 15th studio album, “Moral Hygiene,” which will be released via Nuclear Blast Records on October 1. With some of MINISTRY’s strongest and most inspired material to date, the 10 tracks are a follow-up to 2018’s lauded “AmeriKKKant” and put forth Jourgensen’s societal manifesto and plea for civilization to get back to a set of standards that lives up to and embraces our humanity.

“Moral Hygiene” also includes the previously released “Good Trouble” (a tribute to late Congressman and Civil Rights icon John Lewis) as well as “Alert Level” that sounded the alarms about our collective dissonance towards the pandemic, climate change, and the man formerly in the White House, bolstered by the song’s overarching question posed to listeners: “How concerned are you?”

“Moral Hygiene” was recorded with engineer Michael Rozon (also behind the boards on “AmeriKKKant”) at Scheisse Dog Studio, Jourgensen’s self-built home studio, and creative lab. As with all MINISTRY albums, all songs are written and performed by Al Jourgensen. Additional contributions come from Billy Morrison (Billy Idol, Royal Machines), Cesar Soto (Man The Mute), John Bechdel (Killing Joke, Fear Factory), Roy Mayorga (Stone Sour, Soulfly, Nausea), Paul D’Amour (Tool, Feersum Ennjin), Arabian Prince (N.W.A.), Jello Biafra (Dead Kennedys) and sitar player Flash.

Moral Hygiene track listing:
1. Alert Level
2. Good Trouble
3. Sabotage Is Sex
4. Disinformation
5. Search and Destroy
6. Believe Me
7. Broken System
8. We Shall Resist
9. Death Toll
10. TV Song #6 (Right Around The Corner Mix)

“Moral Hygiene” will be available in CD, vinyl, and digital download formats. Pre-orders are available at:

Pre-Save the album here: