Finnish metal band External releases new single


Finnish progressive metal collective EXTERNAL has released a new single, “Against The Wind.”

This is the second single from the band’s upcoming EP, “Stillness,” and a follow-up to their previous single, “Inertia.” The two singles are the first releases from EXTERNAL in 2020 and come after 2019 single “Distant” (mixed by Asger Mygind of VOLA), released last December. “Against The Wind” is mixed and mastered by Samu Oittinen, who has previously worked with the likes of INSOMNIUM, SONATA ARCTICA, and KORPIKLAANI.

Bassist and composer Samuel Järvinen comments: ” ‘Against The Wind’ is a second look into the group of songs we composed during the uncertain spring of 2020. I wanted to create dialogue between something otherworldly and something organic. I took some influences from the Icelandic visionary Björk as well as AGENT FRESCO and even from the master of minimalism, Philip Glass .In it’s heart ‘Against The Wind‘ is still a catchy metal song that balances the different elements and offers the listener a familiar ground to stand on. Lyrically I wanted to talk about the relationship between the past and the present and the will to build a better future. Little did I know that the world would see certain events after I wrote the text that would color it in a very relevant light.”

Watch the visualizer here:


Aleksi Haukkaluoma – vocals, guitar

Julius Lehtonen – drums, backing vocals

Samuel Järvinen – bass guitar, synth bass, programming, backing vocals

Roger Lundberg – guitar, backing vocals


Listen to Spotify:

Apple Music:






Recent posts

[recent_post_carousel design=”design-1″]

Related posts