Finnish doom metal band Infirmum release new single, “Sleep of Reason”


Melodic doom/death metal band INFIRMUM has released a new single “Sleep of Reason.” The band was formed early 2019 and they have released their full album, “Walls of Sorrow,” in 2020 and an EP, “The Great Unknown,” in 2022. Melancholic, dark, gloomy, and full of emotions, INFIRMUM take you on an atmospheric journey with the beauty and the beast through the darkness.

Vocalist Anna Rose comments on the song: “This is a song that started taking its first shape a few years ago, before I even joined Infirmum. It is a song born of frustration, meant to express the despair of existing in an ever more uncertain world. While it is a salve, a way to vent all those feelings, it is also a herald of our doom. If I ever wrote an actual funeral dirge, this is it!”

Guitar player Timo Solonen continues: “As soon as Anna joined Infirmum in the summer 2020, she told she had lyrics ready for a song called Sleep of Reason. She also had vocal melodies ready for the chorus. I did my best to compose whole song around the chorus’s vocal melodies and get the atmosphere to be right for the song based on the lyrics.. I think results are quite good but wasn’t easy I have to say.

Teemu Mastovaara did arrangements for the cello and perfect job he did. Also Erna’s keyboards, Hanska’s drums, Joonas’s guitars and bass are excellent. Eliel’s growls works perfectly. And Anna? Well, you really have to love her voice. This is end of an era.”

Listen to the single on music services:

Watch the lyric video:

Infirmum’s line-up is: Anna Rose as vocalist, Taka Eliel (SANCTUARY OF HATE) as vocalist and bassist, Erna Siikavirta (ex-LORDI, session keys for CHILDREN OF BODOM and SINERGY, ARTHEMESIA, DEATHLIKE SILENCE) on keyboards, Joonas Siikavirta (BEGRIM) on guitar, Timo Solonen on guitar, Hanna-Leena “Hanska” (MOURNING WOOD) on drums, and Elya on cello.