FEATURED SINGLE: Smackbound – Wall of Silence (Musicalypse Archive)


Having been quite impressed by the good message, catchy music, and skilled performances by SMACKBOUND‘s first single, “Drive it Like You Stole It,” we were looking forward to hearing the next single, which was promised for today, September 20th, 2019: “Wall of Silence.”

You might know some of SMACKBOUND‘s musicians from other projects, such as WINTERSUN, TRACEDAWN, STRATOVARIUS, & STATUS MINOR, among others. This new band, however, offers less of a heavy metal outlet for their skills in exchange for a more rock n’ roll feel.

What was perhaps most interesting about this song immediately was how different it was from “Drive it Like You Stole It.” It starts abruptly and has a very aggressive beginning, yet still manages to have a smooth and catchy chorus that’s easy to sing along to. As well, rather than feeling like ROXETTE -era rock like the last song, this has a ferocious rockabilly element to it that likewise doesn’t shy away from using some electronic sounds in the keyboards. As before, one of the highlights remains Netta Laurenne‘s impressive vocals, though there are some truly ferocious solos in there as well. After hearing how diverse the sound between two different singles is, we’re even more curious to know what the full album is going to have to offer!

Written by Bear Wiseman
Musicalypse, 2019
OV: 878


Netta Laurenne – vocals

Teemu Mäntysaari – guitars

Tuomas Yli-Jäskäri – bass

Vili Itäpelto – keyboards

Rolf Pilve – drums



Recent posts

Related posts