Caliban release “Intoleranz” Song and Video, taken from “Zeitgeister.”


It took German metalcore vets, CALIBAN recording a cover of RAMMSTEIN’s “Sonne” to realize that their native tongue was a seamless fit with their time-tempered collision of punishing riffs and Andreas Dörner’s urgent vocals. With fans hungry for the Essen-borne quintet to record an album exclusively in German, the band simply said: “Why not?” and “Zeitgeister” was born.

Today the band is releasing the first song and video clip for “Intoleranz,“ The original, “Intolerance,” was released on their classic debut album “A Small Boy In A Grey Heaven.” Check out CALIBAN’s 2021 take on the song and the matching video clip that was directed by Michael Winkler for Der Pakt:

Andreas Dörner (vocals) about the song and video: “The song was originally called ‘Intolerance,’ it is a very old track from ‘A Small Boy In A Grey Heaven.’ In a nutshell the motto is: I will stay different. The song is a plea for individualism and individual fulfilment and against intolerance.”

11 genre-defining LPs deep into their career, the band’s vision for the album came naturally – a career retrospective and deep-dive into CALIBAN favorites that haven’t had a live airing in some time.

“It wasn’t an easy decision, but once we allowed us to make them as different from the originals as we felt it was needed it came fairly naturally”, explains guitarist and main songwriter Marc Görtz. Of course, some updating was necessary when it came to translating the songs to German. “It turned out to be surprisingly tricky,” says Dörner“While I feel more at home with my native German it made it a lot more complicated, as I had more options to phrase something.”

Formed in 1997, CALIBAN’s legacy has been a tireless one, touring the globe and sharing stages with the likes of KREATOR, KILLSWITCH ENGAGE, and DARK TRANQUILITY just to mention a few “Zeitgeister” was a welcome homecoming. With the help of long-running producer Benjamin Richter (MOONSPELL, Emil Bulls, and more) CALIBAN hand-picked seven tracks to bring new life to:

Trauma“ (feat. Matthi from NASTY, originally “Arena Of Concealment”)
Herz” (originally “I Will Never Let You Down”)
Ausbruch nach Innen“ (originally “Tyranny Of Small Misery”)
Feuer, zieh’ mit mir“ (originally “Between The Worlds”)
Nichts ist für immer“ (originally “All I Gave”)
Intoleranz“ (originally “Intolerance”)
Mein Inferno” (originally “My Little Secret”)
Zeitgeister” also boasts a new track, “nICHts”.

“Zeitgeister” will be released May 14th, 2021 and is available in the following formats.

First presales incl. bundles are already online:

Ltd. CD Digipak

black LP+CD

300x glow in the dark LP+CD via CM Distro Wholesale and

200x transp. coke bottle green LP+CD via Impericon

200x deep blood red LP+CD via EMP

Digital Album

USA only: 500x olive green LP+CD


Andreas Dörner – Vocals

Denis Schmidt – Guitar

Marc Görtz – Guitar

Marco Schaller – Bass

Patrick Grün – Drums

CALIBAN online: