UK alt-metal unit Vexed releases bludgeoning new single “Fake” and new music video.


Nearing the eve of the release of their long-awaited debut album, “Culling Culture,” fast-rising UK-based unit VEXED once again showcases the brutality they’re made of. Combining both visually cinematic and oppressively honest material with a refined symbiosis of technically adept hardness and droning heavy instrumentality, VEXED convince with their new single “Fake” – released today alongside a disturbingly intense official music video. 

VEXED goes all out on absolutely every single track featured on their debut release, “Culling Culture,” out this Friday, May 21st via Napalm Records

gerund or present participle: gaslighting
1. manipulate (someone) by psychological means into doubting their own sanity.
Being a victim of gaslighting is like mental torture. Losing touch with reality, yourself, your friends and family is all the control they want.
“Fake” is a brutally heavy and unforgiving track that is dedicated to all Gaslighters out there. We see you. You have been warned.
Watch the intense official music video for “Fake”:

Pre-Order VEXED’s debut album “Culling Culture” NOW!

Facing very personal experiences, “Culling Culture” is a tribute to hate, betrayal, and anger, whilst also reflecting post-modern society with strikingly honest songwriting and heavy groove. Moreover, for as confident as they are musically, VEXED is as poignant lyrically.

Unrelenting lead vocalist Megan Targett‘s vicious vocal assault blending venomously low growls, soaring cleans, and razor-sharp rap-like deliveries (see “Fake” and “Weaponise“) is backed by the pure technical proficiency of bandmates Willem Mason-Geraghty (drums), Jay Bacon (guitar), and Al Harper (bass). The warning instrumental “Ignorant” prefaces the record’s menacing atmosphere and provides a flawless basis for smashing wake-up call “Hideous” and fiery, threatening tracks “Fake” and “Narcissist“. Ghostly “Aurora” and disrespectfully heavy album-closer “Lazarus” showcase Targett‘s multi-faceted clean vocal delivery while clashing otherworldly auras with resonating, melodic rhythms. “Epiphany” blends both, offering a bold message of moving past self-loathing, while superciliously weighty offering “Weaponise” seethes between violent hatred and ambient darkness.

“Culling Culture” Tracklisting:
01. Ignorant
02. Hideous
03. Fake
04. Epiphany
05. Misery
06. Narcissist
07. Weaponise
08. Purity
09. Drift
10. Aurora
11. Lazarus
Culling Culture” will be available in the following formats:
– 1-CD Digipack
– 1-LP Gatefold Vinyl BLACK
– 1-LP Gatefold Vinyl ORANGE TRANSPARENT (strictly limited to 100 copies)
– 1-CD Digipack + Shirt Bundle
– Digital Album

VEXED will perform live on stage in the 2021 edition of Bloodstock. Bloodstock Open Air takes place from August 11-15 at Catton Park, UK.

VEXED are:
Megan Targett – vocals
Jay Bacon – guitar
Willem Mason-Geraghty – drums
Al Harper – bass
VEXED online:
Napalm Records