REVIEW: The Night Flight Orchestra – Sometimes The World Ain’t Enough


An astronaut flaunts of the cover of the new Night Flight Orchestra album “Sometimes The World Ain’t Enough”. From the first song “This Time”, it’s already clear why. What Björn Strid and company do in this album is remarkable. It literally takes us back to the golden age of the eighties. Everything in this album screams that. An interesting fact is that you’d be surprised how catchy some of these songs (and the ones on their other albums are), especially when you’re aware that most of these lads, featuring members from Soilwork and Arch Enemy, are pretty well known in the melodeath scene. Think Toto, Van Halen, Journey, Boston, Foreigner, Asia etc.


“This Time” starts off with atmospheric sounds launching us in a space shuttle through the album. The keyboard sounds on this album are highly inspired by the nifty vintage keyboard sounds and the orchestrations in the back sound genius. “This Time” is an uptempo, powerful opener that if it had been sent back to time in the eighties definitely would have peaked on number one in the worldwide charts for a long time. Instantly, I felt like screaming along with Björn Strid as he kicks off the song with a scream with such ease as if it seems no big deal. By far Strid appears to be the most versatile vocalist in the metal scene worldwide. I had little to no idea about.

“This Time” showcases a groovy, funky start of an album you want to move your feet to as if it was a musical. Then, when you think you couldn’t possibly get a better flashback, comes “Turn To Miami”. “Turn To Miami” is that kind of a song that makes you think you are wearing a tank top and sunglasses while taking a red convertible sports car to the beach for a drive during a sunset.

“Paralyzed” combines jazzy riffs, funky backing vocals, a bouncy bass line and that general eighties rock groove. “Sometimes The World Ain’t Enough”. That chorus. This seems to be a classic that should be offered in karaoke bars, a song that one too many drunk people should scream on, on the top of their lungs. A song that totally destroys you the morning after. Yes. A highlight, again. “Moments of Thunder” reminds me of Asia, the song is perhaps a bit more minimal then all the other extravaganza on the album, but provides a little bit of a resting point for all that bouncing with your hips.

With Paralyzed, jazzy riffs and a bouncy bass line guides the dance-rock groove. After the very strong first half “Speedwagon” feels a little bit more like a filler song, but nevertheless, the song has a very catchy chorus. I do get why it’s on the album, it’s a build-up to one of the most fantastic songs this album has to offer “Lovers In The Rain”. With it’s “But I won’t give up, won’t give in, maybe tonight it all begins” and “I won’t let go, we’re the same, maybe tomorrow never knows, like lovers in the rain”, it could be the soundtrack of someone who needs to be empowered. A very motivational song somehow, that delivers terrific groove, has amazing vocal harmonies and the whole song leads up to that chorus.

“Can’t Be That Bad” together with “Pretty Thing Closing In” again makes you wanna do a dance-off with the closest person in your neighborhood. “Barcelona” again pays homage to all the great AOR acts of the mid-eighties. In this song Strid’s vocals reach a certain high, there’s roughness, tenderness, everything and it blends in a consistent song. Even though “Winged and Serpentine” is probably not the most energetic song and most likely will be missed in the setlist of live shows, it still is a consistent track with the same vibe, easy to listen to and definitely belongs on the album.

“The Last of the Independent Romantics” is somewhat a bit exceptional on this album. Stylistically and musically speaking it fits with the album, but considering its length of nine minutes, it should feel like a stretch, cause how can you bear 9 minutes of eighties cheese? This, however, is not true. In fact, it has one of the best guitar riffs. With the speed of light, the song is over and I can’t help but want to replay the album all over again instantly.

With chord progressions that have that nostalgic vibe, keyboard sounds that send you straight back in time and so much eighties cheese that those people who prefer cheese platters over real dessert might actually ease their hunger because of this album. For once, an album is not centered around the electric guitar, true there is some masterful solo work in there, but hey these musicians can showcase their intricate guitar skills in their other projects, in here it’s the keyboard melodies that shine and take the album to a higher level. They somehow keep the balance in between nostalgia and what’s trendy right now. The keys often sound groove, funky and jazzy.

As a nineties kid, it always has been a huge disappointment that my time wasn’t filled with all those tracks on the radio, however, this album totally makes up for that. I bet I could even state that if this had come out during the eighties, this would have been an instant hit. Even the production values of this album sound like they came straight from the eighties. I have reviewed many different albums already this year and so far, I have come across nothing that sounds like this, in its genre, this is truly a masterpiece. It seems like the lads were right “Sometimes The World Ain’t Enough”, this album is flying to the moon. 

01. This Time
02. Turn To Miami
03. Paralyzed
04. Sometimes The World Ain’t Enough
05. Moments Of Thunder
06. Speedwagon
07. Lovers In the Rain
08. Can’t Be That Bad
09. Pretty Thing Closing In
10. Barcelona
11. Winged And Serpentine
12. The Last Of The Independent Romantics

Björn Strid – Vocals
Sharlee D’ Angelo – Bass
David Andersson – Guitar
Richard Larsson – Keyboards
Jonas Källsbäck – Drums
Sebastian Forslund – Guitar

Nuclear Blast