REVIEW: Kamelot – The Shadow Theory


Kamelot is one of the most celebrated power metal bands out there. They have had a long and successful career and is still going strong, proof of that is their new album “The Shadow Theory”. With Johan Nunez (Firewind) taking over the rear from Casey Grillo behind the drums, the band also has had a lineup change. “The Shadow Theory” came out on 6 April 2018. The band was deeply inspired by analytical psychology and spent the past year crafting a groundbreaking album leaning on three pillars: The Shadow Empire (the global mind), The Shadow Key (the resistance) and The Shadow Wall (The veil that blinds us from the truth). Which is what they call a dystopian glimpse at the complexity of the human mind and its place in an oppressive society – an obvious parallel to all of us, in the here and now.


“The Shadow Theory” opens with the strong instrumental intro track “The Mission”, building up to “Phantom Divine (The Shadow Empire) feat. Lauren Hart”. Once again there is plenty of female guest musicians, lending their often talented voices to the band. A very strong track to open up the album. It has that typical Kamelot sound.“Amnesia” for me is a highlight of the album, with it’s fierce and heavy riffs. There seems to be a good balance between the more heavy and the more mellow songs. At times the album reminds a lot of “Ghost Opera”, but in its own way it sounds refreshing. Another highlight in my opinion is “Mindfall Remedy”, which because of a very strong chorus, might be even the best song on the album.

Honestly, I could go song by song and try to convince you why you should or should not buy this album. But let’s face it, Kamelot is one of those bands that always deliver the best way possible and never disappoint. This album was no exception to that. Every minute was one too less, and in the past couple of days this album has been on constant repeat. It’s subtle, it’s powerful. It has a very strong concept. Influenced by symphonic metal and progressive metal, which both come out in the best balance. The album has an outstanding production, involved top-notch musicians and truly will give you that evening you deserve. I don’t do ratings here at Tuonela Magazine, but I gotta tell you, this is one of the best releases and if not one of the most anticipated ones from 2018.



1. The Mission
2. Phanto Divine (Shadow Empire)
3. RavenLight
4. Amnesiac
5. Burns To Embrace
6. In Twilight Hours
7. Kevlar Skin
8. Static
9. MindFall Remedy
10. Stories Unheard
11. Vespertine (My Crimson Bride)
12. The Proud and The Broken
13. Ministrium (Shadow Key)


Tommy Karevik – Vocals
Thomas Youngblood – Guitars
Sean Tibbetts – Bass
Oliver Palotai – Keyboards
Casey Grillo – Drums