REVIEW: Flat Earth – None For One


Something a lot of people have been waiting for was the release of Flat Earth’s debut album “None For One”. The supergroup featuring Niclas Etelävuori (ex-Amorphis), Mika “Gas Lipstick” Karppinen (ex-HIM), Mikko “Linde” Lindström (ex-HIM) and Anttoni “Anthony” Pikkarainen(Polanksi) released their debut album on 9 November 2018 through Drakkar Entertainment.


The whole release of the album felt sudden and very fast. But nonetheless, here we are with a full-length 11 track album with a mix of strong and recognizable songs. There are going to be elements that we recognize from each musician’s style that is represented on this album. Take the very strong sounding Linde-stamp on the guitar melodies and the progressive bass lines from Niclas Etelävuori, but this is all mixed into a new package with a whole new mark on it.

So what does Flat Earth sound like? I’m not able to throw a specific genre at you, although I would call it alternative rock with a grungy feel to it. At times their songs sound groovy, at times they sound very proggy. Pikkarainen’s vocals often remind me of grunge icons like Chris Cornell and Eddie Vedder.

My personal highlights of this album? Damn right, “Cyanide”! That song just sticks in your head for an eternity and beyond. It has that catchy guitar melody, emotive vocals and somehow a lot of suspense in the song altogether. If you want something more atmospheric than the title track might just do that for you, it kicks off slowly with an eerie, intriguing intro, but then continues hard and heavy. Another one of my favorites that took a turn to heavy metal was “Noble Swine”. This song made me realize that the band has so many avenues to explore and I personally hope that they will definitely march forward towards this heavier side! The album ends with the groovy “Kill My God”and leaves us to linger for more.

The band managed to put together an impressive first album with a huge production to it. The sound of the album is remarkable, but with a supergroup consisting out of musicians like these, that’s no big surprise. The material used for this album was mainly consisting out of things from the back catalog of Niclas Etelävuori. This makes me wonder what the band still has in store for us when they start writing songs from scratch, because mark my words, their second album is definitely going to surprise us once again in many ways!

Mikko “Linde” Lindström – Guitar
Mika “Gas Lipstick” Karppinen – Drums
‪Niclas Etelävuori – Bass
‪Anttoni “Anthony” Pikkarainen – Vocals

01. Subhuman
02. Blame
03. Given Time
04. Cyanide
05. None For One
06. The Glow
07. Noble Swine
08. Limelight
09. Freedoom
10. Blunt
11. Kill My God