Nero Di Marte release “L’Arca” and “Sisyphos” live from Roadburn Redux.


The Italian experimentalists of NERO DI MARTE have released a live video for the tracks “L’Arca” and “Sisyphos,” which were recorded during the band’s set at Roadburn Redux on April 16 – 18 . This was the first time the band played live in their brand-new line-up that includes guitarist Alessio Cattaneo and bassist Georgio Figà TalamancaNERO DI MARTE‘s set during the online festival can be viewed here…

The band comments: “We’re happy to publicly share the set we recorded for Roadburn Redux 2021… Even if the experience was online, it was an awesome event that brought us together by sharing new, forward-thinking music. It was an honor to be a part of it. We’re now hard at work on new material in the hope that things will open back up soon.”

NERO DI MARTE have previously revealed their brand new (live) line-up! Guitar player Francesco D’Adamo and bass player Andrea Burgio have decided to part ways with the band due to personal reasons. Alessio Cattaneo will take over axe duties and Georgio Figà Talamanca will present on bass from now on.

NERO DI MARTE‘s latest album “Immoto” was released on January 24, 2020. The artwork, which has been created by Alex Eckman-Lawn, can be viewed together with the album details below.

1. Sisyphos (11:30)
2. L’Arca (8:42)
3. Immoto (12:59)
4. Semicerchi (7:14)
5. La Casa del Diavolo (12:00)
6. Irradia (10:05)
7. La Fuga (4:37)
Total playing time: 1:07:10

Since 2012, NERO DI MARTE have been devoted towards creating experimental, yet heavy music contaminated by prog, death metal, psychedelia and contemporary classical music. The dissolution of these different influences creates a space in which dissonance, melody, claustrophobic and dreamlike atmospheres become instinctively juxtaposed.

After forming in 2012 and shortly after releasing their self-titled debut album 2013, NERO DI MARTE was asked by the mighty Luc Lemay of GORGUTS to tour North America with the legendary death metal band. Following the success of the tour, the band entered the studio in 2014 to record their second album “Derivae,” released later that year.

Both albums received critical acclaim, and the band dedicated the following years to performing live, culminating in a European tour with GORGUTS and PSYCROPTIC in 2016 and performances in festivals such as Royal Metal Fest (DK), Stonehenge Fest (NL), Metalorgie Fest (FR), Krakatoa Fest (IT) and Solo Macello Fest (IT).

With drummer Marco Bolognini leaving in late 2016, the band recruited drummer Giulio Galati (HIDEOUS DIVINITY) in early 2017 to continue composing their third album. After 5 long years of work and transformations, the band finally completed writing and recording their upcoming album “Immoto” once again at Studio73 (IT) with the help of sound engineer Riccardo Pasini.

Though not a “concept album,” as each song goes into a very specific and unique direction both musically and lyrically, there is an overall underlying theme in “Immoto”: creating a motionless, transformative space within ourselves from which creativity, actions, and relationships can manifest in a more meaningful way.

Style: Experimental Post Metal

Sean Worrell: Vocals, Guitar
Alessio Cattaneo: Guitar
Giorgio Figà Talamanca: Bass
Giulio Galati: Drums