Finnish symphonic doom/death metal band Depressed Mode released a new single “Dead & Living”


Finnish symphonic doom/death metal band DEPRESSED MODE released a new single, “Dead & Living.” This single was suppose to be part of the “Words of Death” EP, which was already recorded but was unfortunately destroyed because of hardware failure. So, this brand new single and earlier released re-recorded version of “Suffer in Darkness” are the only tracks to survive from the planned EP. 

Photo by Jamppa Lämminpää

Listen to the “Dead & Living” single:

Otto Salonen comments: “This is a new song, which was composed right after our ‘Decade of Silence’ album. It was quite different from our previous songs, so I was a bit insecure about how it’s going to sound, but after drum recordings by Marko Tommila, I was sure it’s going to be loved by fans worldwide!

Due to hardware failure, this is it for our ‘Words of Death’ EP. In other words, all the remaining songs were destroyed and won’t be released.”

Listen to the “Suffer in Darkness” single featuring Gogo Melone (AEONIAN SORROW, CLOUDS) on streaming services:

DEPRESSED MODE was established in 2005 by composer Otto Salonen. They signed a contract with Firebox Records for two albums in 2006, the first of which, “Ghosts Of Devotion,” was released in 2007 to positive reviews from throughout the media. The second album, “..For Death,” released in 2009, was a success and a step towards more symphonic death/doom metal, with great reviews as well.

Otto Salonen begun composing DM’s third album in January 2020. The lineup for the new album consists of Otto SalonenTeemu HeinolaHenri Hakala, and Iiro AittokoskiVeronica Bordacchini from FLESHGOD APOCALYPSE took over the female vocals for the third album.

The album was recorded and mixed at Ansa Studio by Teemu Heinola and Otto Salonen during 2021.

In autumn 2021, DEPRESSED MODE signed a deal with Inverse Records for the third album, titled “Decade Of Silence.” The album was mastered by Mika Jussila at Finnvox Studios in Helsinki. The long-awaited album was released on May 6th, 2022.

Order the “Decade of Silence” CD on Bandcamp:

Listen to “Decade of Silence” album on streaming services:

Watch the lyric video of first single “Endless November” featuring Veronica Bordacchini (FLESHGOD APOCALYPSE):

Watch the video of second single “Death Walks Among Us”

Watch the music video of third single “Eternal Darkness” featuring Veronica Bordacchini (FLESHGOD APOCALYPSE):

Watch the music video of fourth single “Dissociation of the Extinguished Mind” featuring Jarkko Kokko (MORS PRINCIPIUM EST):