Black metal duo stormruler reveals scorching new track, “At The Cliffs Of Azure City” + new video.


Fast-rising St. Louis, MO, USA based black metal export STORMRULER will release their infernal, fantasy battle-inspired full-length offering, “Under The Burning Eclipse,” this Friday, May 28, via Napalm Records, and are gracing fans with a special early surprise – a brand new lyric video for the track “At The Cliffs Of Azure City”!

Combat-ready standout, “At The Cliffs Of Azure City,” proves exactly why STORMRULER have turned heads in the underground with their grim attack. The track incorporates ruminations of classic heavy metal combined with scorched, war-torn percussion to create a blackened offering for the modern age. 

STORMRULER says about the track:
“‘At The Cliffs Of Azure City’ is a track that demonstrates a bit of an off-kilter approach, with the first riff in 5/4 and a bridge section that has a traditional heavy metal feel. Lyrically it describes a city under siege by a powerful sorceress and her army of mages.”

Watch the brand new lyric video for “At The Cliffs Of Azure City” here:

On release day, May 28, at 12 pm PDT/3 pm EDT/9 pm CEST, Black Metal Promotion will stream STORMRULER‘s very first performance virtually, for free, in celebration of the new album’s release! The band is thrilled to announce that fans will be able to experience their sinister mastery in all its glory on the very same day – from their own homes. 

Watch the stream HERE on May 28!

STORMRULER – featuring the dark lyrical genius and deft skill of guitarist/vocalist Jason Asberry and drummer Jesse Schobel – have built a noteworthy subterranean following since their formation, leading to their recent signing with Napalm Records. Combining unrelenting black metal atmosphere and vision from varying metal genres with a brutal, modernized twist of inspiration, careful listeners may just be able to identify themes from some of their favorite stories, games, and more…

Featuring 19 tracks alternating between ominous instrumental ambiance and incendiary black metal riffs and fury, the album tells harrowing tales of war, death, victory, and defeat, and delivers an unmatched, hellscaped auditory experience. Creeping in like menacing sonic smoke, instrumental ambient intro track “Shine Of Ivory Horns” launches directly into opener, “Reign Of The Winged Duke,” instantly careening into a cascade of pummeling drums and charred riffage. “Under The Burning Eclipse” evenly ebbs and flows between warning mystical atmosphere and ghastly action, evident on the likes of blackened head bobbers “Age Of Steel & Blood,” “Dawn Of The Eternal Fire,” and unrelenting 8+ minute title epic “Under The Burning Eclipse.” Standout burner “Of Hollowed Souls & Distant Flame” looks to the north with archaic screams and memorable, colossal progressions, while combat-ready tracks like “At The Cliffs Of Azure City” incorporate ruminations of classic heavy metal combined with scorched, war-torn percussion. The album traverses desolate musical peaks and valleys before closing with the otherworldly brutality of “Fear The Old Blood” – a non-stop onslaught of black metal attack – and ambient, acoustically-driven finisher of olde “Fields Of Mortal Shame.” “Under The Burning Eclipse” is a solid hour of fantasy-laden, grim fables transfixed in blackened scourge. Fans of extreme metal will not want to miss this debut offering from the mighty STORMRULER

Pre-Order “Under The Burning Eclipse” HERE

Under The Burning Eclipse” tracklist:
1. The Shine Of Ivory Horns
2. Reign Of The Winged Duke
3. The March Onto Golden Lands
4. Age Of Steel & Blood
5. Culling Of The Blood Moon
6. Blood Of The Old Wolf
7. Journey To The Unknown
8. Under The Burning Eclipse
9. Prithee, Chosen
10. Of Hollowed Souls & Distant Flames
11. An Empire Of Ash & Dust
12. At The Cliffs Of Azure City
13. Illuminating The Ancient Sky
14. Dawn Of The Eternal Fire
15. A Message From A Foreign King
16. Mark Of The Valkyrie
17. Blood Ritual
18. Fear The Old Blood
19. Fields Of Mortal Shame
“Under The Burning Eclipse” will be available in the following formats:
-CD Digipack
-2LP Gatefold Vinyl Black
-Limited DieHard Edition: 2LP Gatefold Vinyl Orange/Black Splatter + Slipmat & Logo Patch (Napalm Mailorder Only – only 200 copies worldwide)
-2LP Gatefold Transparent Orange (Napalm Mailorder Only – limited to 300 copies worldwide)
-Digital Album

Jesse Schobel – Drums
Jason Asberry – Vocals & Guitars